University of California, Riverside

School of Medicine

School of Medicine Leadership Team

School of Medicine Leadership Team

The School of Medicine Leadership Team is comprised of senior associate deans, associate deans and chairs, each responsible for a key area of medical school administration.

Senior Associate Deans

David Lo

David Lo, M.D., Ph.D.

Senior Associate Dean, Research

  1. Provides leadership for the research enterprise of the School of Medicine.
  2. Administers the school’s research facilities, including laboratory safety, policies and procedures.
Paul Lyons

Paul Lyons, M.D.

Senior Associate Dean, Medical Education

  1. Responsible for all curricular programs leading to the M.D. degree, including curriculum planning, development, management and evaluation.
  2. Faculty recruitment, appointment, development and evaluation.
  3. Development and oversight of Office of Educational Development.
  4. Student progress and promotion.
Michael Nduati

Michael N. Nduati, M.D.

Senior Associate Dean, Clinical Affairs

  1. Provides leadership for the strategic development and growth of UCR Health, the medical school's clinical enterprise.
  2. Serves as the physician executive leader of the medical school's faculty practice.
Raul Ruiz

Raul Ruiz, M.D. (on Leave)

Senior Associate Dean, Community Engagement and Partnerships

  1. On leave while serving as a congressman for the 36th District of California.
  2. Leads and develop medical school initiatives and projects involving community stakeholders in the health care, education and non-profit sectors.
  3. Assists in developing pathway programs aimed at preparing Inland Southern California students for admission to medical schools.
Neal Schiller

Neal L. Schiller, Ph.D.

Senior Associate Dean, Student Affairs
Salma Haider Endowed Chair in Biomedical Sciences

  1. Provides leadership for the medical school's initiatives in student recruitment, admissions, financial aid, academic enrichment, pathway programs, student well-being and career counseling.

Associate Deans

Andrew Alexander

Andrew Alexander, M.D.

Associate Dean, Clinical Medical Education

  1. Provides leadership for the third- and fourth-year medical curriculum, as well as the Longitudinal Ambulatory Care Experience (LACE).
Louise Borda

Louise Borda

Associate Dean, Chief Financial & Administrative Officer

  1. Serves as the chief finance and administrative officer for the School of Medicine, with responsibilities in budgeting, human resources and strategic planning.
Kendrick Davis

Kendrick Davis, Ph.D.

Associate Dean, Assessment and Evaluation

  1. Responsible for monitoring and assessing the school’s institutional learning objectives and quality improvement activities related to the medical education program, as well as fulfilling data needs for primary departments, core support for accreditation, and medical education consultation for study design and data analysis.
Iryna Ethell

Iryna Ethell, Ph.D.

Associate Dean, Academic Affairs

  1. Responsible for oversight and management of the recruitment and promotion process
    for clinical and biomedical faculty appointments.
Chris Lytle

Christian Lytle, Ph.D.

Associate Dean, Pre-Clerkship Curriculum

  1. Responsible for oversight and coordination of the first two years of pre-clerkship curriculum.
  2. Provide leadership and vision in the innovative delivery and curricular renewal of educational content and methodology.
Gerald A. Maguire, M.D.

Gerald A. Maguire, M.D.

Associate Dean for Graduate Medical Education
Designated Institutional Officer, Graduate Medical Education
Chair of Psychiatry

  1. Head of the Graduate Medical Education Program.
  2. Serve as the medical school's Designated Institutional Official (DIO) to the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education.
  3. Responsible for oversight of the psychiatry program, including medical student training and patient care.
Emma Simmons

Emma Simmons, M.D.

Associate Dean, Student Affairs

  1. Responsible for student well-being, serving as academic and personal advisor to medical students and also for undergraduates in UCR’s pipeline programs that prepare students for professional careers in medicine and health.
  2. Participates in student recruitment and retention.
Greer Sullivan

Greer Sullivan, M.D.

Associate Dean, Population Health

  1. Develop the medical school’s health services research program.
  2. Founding director of the Center for Healthy Communities in the UCR School of Medicine.

Assistant Dean

Kathy Barton

Kathy Barton

Assistant Dean, Strategic Initiatives

  1. Develops and executes strategies in the areas of: executive consultation and strategic planning, programmatic extramural funding, communications and marketing, and special events and projects.
  2. Sets priorities and executes strategy for community relations.
  3. Leads the Strategic Initiatives unit.


Monica Carson, Ph.D.

Monica J. Carson, Ph.D.

Chair, Division of Biomedical Sciences

  1. Responsible for managing Division of Biomedical Sciences resources and coordination of division research, education and training activities.
Paul Lyons, M.D.

Paul Lyons, M.D.

Chair of Family Medicine

  1. Responsible for oversight of the family medicine program, including medical student training and patient care.
Karen Noblett, M.D.

Karen Noblett, M.D.

Chair of Obstetrics and Gynecology

  1. Responsible for oversight of the obstetrics and gynecology program, including medical student training and patient care.
Ramdas Pai, M.D.

Ramdas Pai, M.D.

Chair, Division of Clinical Sciences
Chair, Internal Medicine

  1. Responsible for managing the recruitment and promotion process for clinical faculty appointments.
  2. Responsible for oversight of the internal medicine program, including medical student training and patient care.
Arnold Tabuenca, M.D.

Arnold Tabuenca, M.D.

Chair of Surgery

  1. Responsible for oversight of the surgery program, including medical student training and patient care.

More Information 

General Campus Information

University of California, Riverside
900 University Ave.
Riverside, CA 92521
Tel: (951) 827-1012

School Information

School of Medicine
2608 School of Medicine Education Building

Admissions Inquiries: (951) 827-7353

General Inquiries: (951) 827-4568

Related Links